Open Dialogue International Community Forum

Psychosis as a means of changing the world

Hi everyone and a Happy new year to all.
It isn’t easy for me to post this one, not so much for the uneasyness of sharing, but for the challenge of being brief and accurate at the same time. What i am going to describe is the ‘psychotic’ last months of my life and the way i interpret it.
My background is that of a chronic depression patient that went on and off meds and a carer of my sister who was diagnosed bipolar in 2006 and had 3 or 4 hospitalizations since. In the summer of 2015 i had a major depression episode, being unemployed since 2012, in the automn started meds, my doctor tried some combinations and in Christmas time i was better and easter found me well.

After a great summer vacation in October i had a psychotic-manic episode. I was able to identify it because i have watched my sister’s episodes and it was much alike though less dense, maybe because i was aware of what was going on when she didn’t. My doctor cut me off the antidepressant in a day and raised the antipsychotic dosage. Yet, as the days went by and i was feeling manic in a way but totally normal in the same time i decided to cut the antipsychotic meds in one day and let my doctor know about it. The conclusion was that he stopped seeing me since he felt i did not trust his opinion, thus him. I tried to explain that i trusted him but not his opinion at this point but this did not save the relationship, anyways.

My psychosis is like a journey of selfconsiousness interelated with my personal, my family’s, my country’s history. I seem to embody some creatures of the past, in Greek mythology, like the Psych, Alitheia, Ourania Afrodity and so on. The interesting is that i now read about these myths in an effort to understand what is going on to me, did not know of them before.