Open Dialogue International Community Forum

Research and service development

In Jaakko’s article he says that there are OD research projects under way in the UK and elsewhere. I wonder if the organisations undertaking this research would update us or share with us the projects purpose and progress on this website. It would surely encourage and inform those seeking to adopt the practice if we were aware of the work being done elsewhere, and we may even be able to collaborate or assist the project teams.

I would also be interested to hear if any organisations went beyond using this as an therapeutic intervention process and adopted it as a way of working together. Dialogue does encourage greater transparency and clarity in communication, which seems to be a major challenge to many management cultures.
Rex

Hi Rex
I am a student on the Trainers in training course and I also teach on the POD course, Peer-supported Open Dialogue which is training teams of NHS staff across the country. They will be participating in a RCT( randomised controlled trial) which will be starting in a few months. Here is website that can tell you a bit more. It will be a long time before we can publish any results, probably 3-4 years.

Dr Russell Razzaque is the driving force behind this project.
Hope this helps,
Val

Hey Rex,

That’s a great question. I know there’s an article coming out soon by Niels Buus (a Danish academic poached to Australia to support OD there), about the different Scandinavian contexts in which OD has been adopted - the heterogeneity, but also the long-term learnings (they were early adopters).